Wintersleep wins three Music Week awards

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.



The band Wintersleep picked up three awards during Molson Canadian Nova Scotia Music Week, which was held in Liverpool this year. Wintersleep and indie rock musician Rich Aucoin led the list of award winners with their multiple wins.

Wintersleep won in all three categories it was nominated in.

The awards were handed out during the NSLC Gala Awards show, which was held Nov. 11 at the Queens Place Emera Centre, and at the Music and Industry Awards Brunch, which was held the newly opened White Point Beach Lodge. Fifty awards were distributed between the two ceremonies.

Wintersleep won the following awards:

• Group Recording of the Year - Hello Hum

• Recording of the Year - Hello Hum

• Alternative Recording of the Year - Hello Hum

Since forming in 2001, Wintersleep – which also has a Juno Award and an appearance on the David Letterman Show to its credit – has been enjoying success in Canada and the United States, as well as internationally. The band recently performed a European concert tour with stops in the Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, Norway, Switzerland, Denmark and the United Kingdon. Band members include Paul Murphy and Tim d’Eon, both from Yarmouth, and Loel Campbell, Jon Samuel and Mike Bigelow.


Other awards that were handed out with a Yarmouth County connection include:

• DJ of the Year  went to A.A. Wallace (Wallace hails from Wedgeport. He had also been a nominee for Electronic Recording of the Year.)

• Jazz Recording of the Year went to Gypsophilia: Constellation (Bassist Adam Fine also has family ties to Yarmouth.)

Yarmouth County had a long list of nominees heading into Music Week, including Trevor Murphy, who was up for numerous awards for his work on the industry side of things with the work he does at CKDU 88.1 FM, and also on the promotional side of the music industry. Local band Rain Over St. Ambrose had been up for four awards in the categories of Digital Artist of the Year, Group Recording of the Year, New Artist of the Year and Rock Recording of the Year.

Other nominees with local ties also included Joshua Pothier for his industry work, singer Ryan Cook, Th’YARC as a community presenter, the band Kuato, Ocean Blue Music as a promoter and Transcontinental Media as a corporate sponsor.

Prior to being held in Liverpool last week, Nova Scotia Music Week had been held in Yarmouth for three consecutive years. Next year the event moves to Sydney. The following year it is in Truro.


The complete list of Nova Scotia Music Week winners is as follows:

Presented at the NSLC Gala Awards Show:

New Artist Recording of the Year - Dylan Guthro, All That's True

Music Video of the Year - Rich Aucoin/Noah Pink, It (click here to watch)

Male Artist Recording of the Year - David Myles, Into The Sun

Female Artist Recording of the Year - Christina Martin, Sleeping With A Stranger

SOCAN Songwriter of the Year - Joel Plaskett, You're Mine

Group Recording of the Year - Wintersleep, Hello Hum

Recording of the Year - Wintersleep, Hello Hum

Music Nova Scotia Entertainer of the Year - Ben Caplan

Presented at the Music & Industry Awards Brunch:


Aboriginal Recording of the Year - Angelo Spinazzola, The First Nations Songwriting Sessions

Alternative Recording of the Year - Wintersleep, Hello Hum

Blues Recording of the Year - John Campbelljohn, Celtic Blues

Children's Recording of the Year - Keith Mullins/Thom Swift, The Wood Buffalo Youth Song Project

Classical Recording of the Year - The Barra MacNeils, The Barra MacNeils with Symphony Nova Scotia Live in Concert

Country/Bluegrass Recording of the Year (TIE) - Dale Murray, Dream Mountain Dream AND The Modern Grass, High On The Mountain

DJ of the Year - A.A. Wallace

Digital Artist of the Year - Rich Aucoin

Electronic Recording of the Year - Rich Aucoin, We're All Dying To Live

Folk Recording of the Year - Rose Cousins, We Have Made A Spark

Francophone Recording of the Year - Donna & Andy, La Vie Pour Moi

Hip Hop Recording of the Year - J-Bru, 12 Years and Counting

Inspirational Recording of the Year - Andru Branch, Step Into The Light

Jazz Recording of the Year - Gypsophilia, Constellation

Loud Recording of the Year - Chaos Theory, Chaos Theory

Musician of the Year - Kev Corbett

Rock Recording of the Year - Carleton Stone, Carleton Stone

Traditional/Roots Recording of the Year - The Modern Grass, High On The Mountain

Urban Recording of the Year - J-Bru, 12 Years and Counting


Booking Agent of the Year (TIE) - Heather Gibson AND Jason MacIsaac

Community Presenter of the Year - Chester Playhouse

Company of the Year - SpinCount Music & Promotions

Corporate Sponsor of the Year - Casino Nova Scotia

Educator of the Year - Keith Mullins

Event of the Year - Halifax Pop Explosion

Industry Professional of the Year - Kimberly Sinclair

Manager of the Year - Jason Burns

Media Professional of the Year - Stephen Cooke, The Chronicle Herald

Promoter of the Year - Sonic Concerts

Production Company of the Year - Tour Tech East

Producer Of The Year - Daniel Ledwell

Publicist of the Year - Wendy Phillips

Radio Program of the Year - Atlantic Airwaves, CBC

Radio Station of the Year - CKDU 88.1FM

Recording Studio of the Year - Echo Chamber

Studio Engineer Of The Year - Charles Austin

Technician of the Year - Trevor DeSouza

Venue of the Year - The Carleton Music Bar & Grill

Visual Artist of the Year - Mat Dunlap

Volunteer of the Year - Pam Samson


Organizations: Molson Canadian Nova Scotia Music Week, Queens Place Emera Centre, The Modern The Sun Pour Moi Andru Branch Roots CBC Radio Station Echo Chamber

Geographic location: Yarmouth County, Liverpool, Nova Scotia Canada United States Netherlands Germany Belgium Norway Switzerland Denmark Wedgeport Sydney Truro

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page