Top News

Volunteers in Yarmouth, Shelburne and Digby counties being thanked and recognized

Municipal units in tri-counties choose their representative volunteers.
Municipal units in tri-counties choose their representative volunteers.

SOUTHWESTERN, N.S. – Nova Scotia will present its annual provincial volunteer awards Tuesday, April 18, in Halifax.

Again this year, a resident from each of Nova Scotia’s municipal units will receive a representative volunteer award. The following are the representative volunteers for 2017 from Digby, Yarmouth and Shelburne counties:


Oliver Janson

Oliver Janson, Town of Digby: Oliver Janson has coached soccer, track and field and cross-country. He is or has been a member of various boards, including the Upper Clements Theme Park Society, Digby Area Health Service Hospital Foundation, Digby Area Community Health Board and Digby Area Theatre Society. He was founder and organizer and continues to sponsor the Digby Scallop Days Fun Run.

Shirley Dugas

Shirley Dugas, Municipality of Digby: Shirley Dugas has contributed her volunteer efforts to the Admiral Digby Museum and Historical Society’s genealogy department. She has volunteered with Girl Guides of Canada and also helped  with the basketball program at Digby Regional High School. She also is a dedicated blood donor, working her way towards a goal of 100 donations.

Marie Saulnier

Marie Saulnier, Municipality of Clare: Marie Saulnier sits on various volunteer committees for the Sacred Heart Parish in Saulnierville, notably the social action committee, where, among things, she helps organize receptions at the parish hall after funerals. She’s involved in organizing fundraisers such as the annual parish picnic, delivers gifts to special needs home during the holidays and gives communion to the sick. She also volunteers for the local food bank.

Rachelle d'Entremont

Rachelle d’Entremont, Town of Yarmouth: Rachelle d’Entremont is a founding member and advocate of 100+ Women of Yarmouth County Who Care. She has helped with the Yarmouth Central School breakfast program and is a member of the Yarmouth Rotary Club, where her involvement has included Meals on Wheels, among other initiatives. She also has served on the business awards committee for the Yarmouth and Area Chamber of Commerce and has been an in-school mentor through Big Brothers Big Sisters.

Norman Amirault, Municipality of Yarmouth: Norman Amirault has been an active volunteer with the Yarmouth Fire Department for 50 years. He has helped with the local Meals on Wheels program for 13 years. In the winter, he plows many neighbours’ driveways. He is a longtime member of the St. Ambrose choir.

Jill Surette

Jill Surette, Municipality of Argyle: Jill Surette has been heavily involved over the years in the Argyle Abuptic Festival – as an organizer, fundraiser etc. – and says the festival is a great way to celebrate the community she loves. She helps with the school breakfast program at Drumlin Heights and has been involved in her church. She has coached basketball and was involved in the Friends of the Library, Pubnico branch.

Donna Rennehan

Donna Rennehan, Town of Shelburne: Donna Rennehan organizes the parade of lights for Shelburne’s Founders’ Days. Her efforts include getting boats to participate in the event, canvassing local businesses for donations, getting judges and organizing the prizes. More recently, she also stepped up to refurbish the town’s Christmas decorations.

Dana Dares

Dana Dares, Municipality of Shelburne: Dana Dares has been involved in the Woodland Multi-Use Trail Association as a member and director and he has contributed greatly to trail development in the community. Other organizations have benefitted from his volunteer efforts over the years, notably the Shelburne County ATV Association and the Sable River Volunteer Fire Department.

Eliza Powell

Eliza Powell, Municipality of Barrington: Eliza Powell is a founding member of the Barrington Regional Curling Club. She has helped promote curling and tried to get young people involved in the sport. She worked on the bake table for the club’s fall fling and, for 14 years, helped keep the club’s lawn mowed and weeded the flowers. She also has volunteered for the Heart and Stroke Foundation and Cancer Society.

Sheldon Bell

Sheldon Bell, Town of Clark’s Harbour: Sheldon Bell plays an active role in the Cape Sable Island New Horizons Seniors Club. He is always on call to put up signs, mow lawns and get the hall ready for events. He has organized the Lucky Duck Loto ticket sales – a major fundraiser – for several years. He also is active in the Stone Church, where he is choir member and has been treasurer for several years.

Vicki Huskilson

Vicki Huskilson, Town of Lockeport: This award is being presented posthumously. Vicki Huskilson was 57 when she and her husband died in a car accident last December. Her volunteer efforts had been extensive. Among other things, she was warden of Christ Church in Shelburne and chair of the Lockeport Loop Business Association. Among other things, she was involved in the Shelburne County Arts Council, Shelburne County Chamber of Commerce, Ragged Islands Historical Society and Coastal Oldies Car Club. She and her husband, Mac, coordinated Lockeport’s annual antique car parade.


Recent Stories