School board sworn in, chair selected

Tina Comeau
Published on November 8, 2012

By Tina Comeau



The Tri-County Regional School Board was sworn in prior to its November monthly meeting on Nov. 6, and around the table are three new faces and another new, yet familiar face to the board.

Following last month’s election the new members of the board are Dolores Atwood representing the Municipality of Yarmouth, Elizabeth Acker representing Shelburne and Darlene Lawrence, who won the African Nova Scotian seat. Andy Baxter, the board’s representative for the town of Yarmouth, is back on the board, having served on it before in the past.

Donna Tidd of Digby, who was the board chair leading into the election, stays in this role. She and Joan Brewer were nominated for the chair’s position, however Brewer declined the nomination so Tidd was acclaimed.

Faye Haley, also of Digby County and a former board chair, assumes the position of vice-chair. Prior to the election Anne Moses had been the board’s vice-chair but she did not reoffer in the election.

Board members Ron Hines, Baxter and Brewer were also nominated for the position of vice-chair but all three declined the nomination so Haley was acclaimed to the position.