Students receive Lieutenant Governor's Respectful Citizenship Award

Fred Hatfield
Published on February 24, 2014

Local student among those being honoured.

Promoting healthy living with a community garden, creating anti-bullying committees, raising awareness about the value of cross-cultural diversity, and championing inclusivity in the classroom are some of the initiatives Nova Scotia students are using to promote respectful citizenship.

Students from across the province will be at Government House on Wednesday, Feb. 26, to receive the Lieutenant Governor's Respectful Citizenship Award.

"I was impressed by the recipients' passion and dedication to making their schools, communities and the province safe and accepting places," said Lt.-Gov. J.J. Grant. "These students are the leaders of tomorrow, but they have started to make a difference today. Their work is to be commended and they are very deserving of this honour."

The award recognizes students who demonstrate leadership and commitment to creating safe and inclusive spaces, where bullying behaviour is not accepted, and respectful and responsible relationships are promoted. It is the first award created during Lt.-Gov. Grant's tenure.

Public schools, the Mi'Kmaw Kina'matnewey Board, and home schooled students who are registered with the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development or enrolled in private school could make nominations.

Of the 126 students nominated for the award, 68, both individual and as teams, were selected for 16 awards, two for each school board in the province. They were chosen by an advisory committee of representatives from  the Office of the Lieutenant Governor, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Nova Scotia Teachers Union, Nova Scotia School Board Association, Nova Scotia Federation of Home and School Associations and La Fédération des parents acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

The recipients of the award, and hometown, are: 

-- Janell Stewart, Yarmouth

-- Mikya Francis, Digby

-- Trenton Ward, Glace Bay

-- Riverview High School Gender and Sexuality Alliance, Coxheath, Cape Breton

-- Caleb Talbot, Port Hawkesbury

-- The Green Team, Guysborough

-- Ella Webster, Bible Hill

-- Riley MacEachern and Allison Ellis, Truro

-- Grace Whebby, Dartmouth

-- Erin Brown, Dartmouth

-- Douah Shakshuki, Wolfville

-- Stephen Bennett

-- Robyn Whynot, Liverpool

-- Lunenburg County RCMP Youth Advisory Committee, Lunenburg

-- Adele Orovec, Halifax (CSAP)

-- Lauren Ead, Halifax (CSAP)

For more information, visit .