Yarmouth NDP elects new executive

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Yarmouth New Democratic Party has elected a new executive.

Brian Noble was elected president/chair, David Olie, V.P. communications, Milton Fraser, V.P. membership, Karlene Land, secretary, John Morris, treasurer, Charles Webster provincial council representative, Nathan Jesso, youth representative, and members-at-large Bruce Hinckley, Mil Nickerson, Jillian Rowley, Tom Fuller, Jim Laverie, Charles Daniels, and John Deveau.

Mil Nickerson was presented with an honorary life membership in recognition of 25 years of service to the party.

The members also approved a set of party policy resolutions to be forwarded for debate at the next provincial convention, June 15 - 17 at St. F. X. University in Antigonish.

Sterling Belliveau, NDP Member of the Legislature for Shelburne, spoke to the annual general meeting. Belliveau, the former warden of the Municipality of Barrington, scored a breakthrough in the June 2006 general election and delivered Shelburne to the NDP for the first time. He said his win came from focusing on issues that concern rural Nova Scotians.

Organizations: Charles Webster provincial council, University in Antigonish, Legislature for Shelburne

Geographic location: Barrington, Shelburne, Nova Scotians

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page