Yarmouth Peewee AA Mariners win Joe Lamontagne March Break Tournament

Published on March 15, 2017

The Spears and MacLeod Pharmasave Peewee AA Mariners brought home the championship banner from the Joe Lamontagne March Break Tourmament.

©Michele LeBlanc photo

YARMOUTH, N.S. – The Spears and MacLeod Pharmasave Peewee AA Mariners played in the Joe Lamontagne Hockey Tournament over the March Break and brought home the peewee AA championship title.

In round robin play, the peewee AA team had one win and two ties.

The first game was a 3-3 tie with the Sackville Flyers. Scoring for Yarmouth were from Jesse Amiro, Luke MacLeay and Cameron Kerr. The player of the game was Jaden Kerr.

The second game was also a 3-3 tie, this time with the Dartmouth Whalers. Goals were from Jesse Amiro, Luke MacLeay and Orren Hatfield.  Player of the game was Luke MacLeay.

The third game saw Yarmouth defeat the Cole Harbour Wings 6-0. Orren Hatfield had four goals, while Jaden Kerr and Owen Fitzgerald each had a goal. Player of the game was Orren Hatfield.

Yarmouth played the Sackville Flyers in the semi-final game, coming away with a 3-1 win.  All 3 goals were scored by Orren Hatfield. Player of the game was Cameron Kerr.

The Mariners played league opponents South Shore Ice Sharks in the championship game. Despite being short four players the team played hard and the result was a 5-2 win for Yarmouth, giving the Mariners the championship title. Orren Hatfield and Connor Prouty each had two goals, and Cameron Kerr had the other. Game MVP forward was Cameron Kerr. Game MVP Defense was Ben LeBlanc. Game MVP goalie was Colby Saulnier who was in net for all games in the tournament.